Skip to content
October 24, 2022

Patrick A. Baeuerle, Ph.D.

Dr. Patrick A. Baeuerle currently serves as an MPM BioImpact Advisor. Patrick transitioned from his role as an MPM BioImpact Entrepreneur Partner in 2024. He is the co-founder of eight oncology portfolio companies including Harpoon Therapeutics (acquired by Merck), iOmx Therapeutics, Maverick Therapeutics (acquired by Takeda), TCR² Therapeutics (merged with and into Adaptimmune (NASDAQ: ADAP)), Werewolf Therapeutics (NASDAQ: HOWL), Cullinan Oncology (NASDAQ: CGEM), and Aktis Oncology. Patrick is Chief Scientific Advisor and Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of Cullinan Oncology, and Scientific Advisor at Crossbow and Aktis, both MPM BioImpact portfolio companies.

Prior to joining MPM BioImpact, Patrick served as Vice President of Research and General Manager of Amgen Research Munich GmbH and as CSO for Micromet, where he was responsible for the development of BiTE antibody Blincyto®, which was approved by the U.S. FDA in 2014 in less than three months as a therapy for relapsed/refractory acute lymphoblastic leukemia. He earlier headed small-molecule drug discovery at Tularik, a publicly traded biotechnology company acquired by Amgen. Prior to this, he was Professor and Chairman of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the Medical Faculty of Freiburg University, Germany, where he did groundbreaking research on transcription factor NF-kappaB.

Patrick is the recipient of Xconomy’s 2019 “X of the Year Award”, and the European Molecular Biology Laboratory’s 2019 Lennart Philipson Award in recognition of his many contributions to the development of cancer immunotherapies. To date, he has published 245 PubMed-listed papers that have been cited more than 85,000 times. He has a Hirsch index of 141 and was rated Germany’s most frequently cited biomedical scientist of the decade (1990-1999), and among the top 50 worldwide (1990 to 1997).

Patrick holds a Ph.D. in Biology from the University of Munich (LMU) and performed post-doctoral research with Dr. David Baltimore at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is also an Honorary Professor of Immunology of the Medical Faculty of LMU in Munich, Germany and is an elected member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.